Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote and published her eight Little House on the Prairie books, Little House in the Big Woods, Farmer Boy, Little House on the Prairie, On the Banks of Plum Creek, By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, and These Happy Golden Years between 1932 and 1943. Laura’s ninth book, The First Four Years, was published after her death, in 1971. The Little House on the Prairie television series, inspired by the Wilder books, is among the most beloved family dramas in television history.



Charles “Pa” Ingalls was a central figure in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie books, and his music-making was a prominent feature of Laura’s storytelling. Pa’s Fiddle Recordings, LLC, was founded by Vanderbilt University ethnomusicologist, Dr. Dale Cockrell to recreate the music Laura loved as a child.  Three CD’s, Arkansas TravelerHappy Land, and Charles Ingalls American Fiddler, were recorded between 2005 and 2012. In 2012 PBS commissioned a one-hour television special, Pa’s Fiddle: The Music of America, co-executive produced by Dean Butler, Richard Okie, and Tony Tiano.


Viewers of the beloved Little House on the Prairie television series know Dean Butler as Almanzo Wilder, the man who married Laura Ingalls. Dean appeared more than 60 episodes of the long-running series between 1979 and 1983. Today Dean is a producer of sports and documentary programming for broadcast, cable, and streaming distribution. Dean is also the owner of Pa’s Fiddle Recordings, LLC, which celebrates the timeless American music Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote about in her famous Little House on the Prairie books.